• Home
  • Tag: 夜上海论坛WT

Former Aurora Mayor, U.S. Air Force vet Paul Alford dies

first_imgAurora, In. —  Paul O. Alford 88, of Aurora, Indiana, passed away Sunday October 21, 2018 at Forest Park Health Campus in Richmond, Indiana.He was born April 30, 1930 in St Louis , MO, son of the late Murray Alford and Elenor Alice (Kemp) Alford.Paul was raised in Elkhart, Indiana and was a 1948 graduate of Elkhart High School. He enlisted in the U.S. Air Force in 1950 during the Korean War.In 1954 Paul began his career in law enforcement as an Indiana State Trooper and moved to Aurora. In 1974 Paul retired from the ISP as Detective Sergeant. Paul continued his life of public service as Mayor of Aurora, Indiana for two terms. He and his wife, Jacquline were co-owners of Alford’s Coins. He loved Aurora, “River City” and believed it to be one of the most beautiful and historically rich areas of America.Paul was a member of the Aurora Masonic Lodge, Aurora American Legion and the FOP. Paul attended the Aurora First Presbyterian Church.Paul is survived by his sons, Gilbert Alford of Richmond, VA. Lee Williams of Duluth, GA, Tim Alford of Muncie, IN; daughter, Jerrilyn (Bill) Longcamp of West Chester, OH; brother, William Moore of Elkhart, IN; sister, Mary (Orin) Kilmer of Monroe, OH; grandchildren, Kyle, Lisa, Kelsey, Lauren, Evan, Hanna, Emily, Sam and Jacob; 15 great grandchildren and several nieces and nephews.He was preceded in death by his parents, loving wife of 46 years, Jacquline E. (Speckman) Alford, a brother and two sisters.Friends will be received Friday, October 26, 2018, 4:00 pm – 8:00 pm at the First Presbyterian Church Aurora, 215 Fourth Street, Aurora, Indiana.Services will be held at the church on Saturday October 27, 2018 at 11:00 am with Pastor Dana Stout officiating.Interment will follow in the River View Cemetery, Aurora,, Indiana. Military graveside services will be conducted by members of local Veterans Service Organizations.Contributions may be made to the Hillforest Historical Society. If unable to attend services, please call the funeral home office at (812) 926-1450 and we will notify the family of your donation with a card.last_img read more

BCCI announces domestic cricket schedule

first_img6 NE teams to make debut in Ranji TrophyMumbai, July 18: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Wednesday announced that the 37-team Ranji Trophy championship will be held from November 1, 2018, to February 6, 2019, after the conclusion of the Vijay Hazare and the Deodhar Trophy 50-overs tournaments.The domestic season will begin with the Duleep Trophy, starting on August 17, 2018. It will end on September 8.Then the Vijay Hazare Trophy will run from September 19 to October 20, while the Deodhar Trophy will run from October 23 to 27.The Ranji Trophy will have nine new teams in Arunachal Pradesh, Bihar, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Puducherry, Sikkim & Uttarakhand.The tournament will have nine teams each in Elite Group A and B and 10 teams in the Elite Group C.The nine new teams will be placed in the Plate group category. As per Justice RM Lodha committee recommendations, the extension of the game to the remote areas was a priority and that is how the states from North East were introduced in this year’s Ranji Trophy as participants in the plate division.The top team that qualifies for quarter-finals from the Plate group will be promoted to Elite Group C in the next season. The top two teams that qualify for the quarter-finals from Elite Group C will be promoted to Elite Group A & B in the next season.The Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy will also comprise 37 teams and will be played after the Irani Trophy. This will be a great platform for the domestic players to prepare for the IPL.The senior women’s team will commence their domestic season with the T20 Challenger Trophy, while the one-day league runs from December 1 to 29.The one-day Challenger Trophy will be held from January 4, 2019, to January 8, while the T20 league will begin on February 20, 2019, and run till March 13, 2019.The BCCI is set to host more than 2,000 matches across various age-group competitions. (IANS)Ranji Trophy: November 1, 2018, to February 6, 2019Duleep Trophy: August 17 to September 8Vijay Hazare Trophy: September 19 to October 20last_img read more