Changing of the Guard

first_imgPresident Ellen Johnson Sirleaf on Thursday, February 13, 2014 issued a new round of appointees to positions in Government, pending confirmation hearing where applicable, a press release from the Executive Mansion says. Key among them is Frank O. Nyekan, the new director of the Executive Protection Services, replacing Othello Warrick who spent the better part of 2013 nursing infamy from utterances threats issued the Liberian media. Warrick maintains his words were “misconstrued”.  Also key in this round of appointments is the new board of the Liberia Telecommunications Corporation (Libtelco), in which only two were saved from the President’s axe, following the infamous deal earlier this year with K3 Telecom which the previous board unilaterally signed, completely ignoring the public procurement law. The appointees and their respective new posts include:Ms. Kou Joseph, Deputy Minister for Road and Rail, Ministry of Transport, (replacing Mr. Charles Nelson who is being reassigned) and Mr. Augustine Williams, Deputy Minister for Administration, Ministry of Labor.Several appointments to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs include: Atty. Jeddi M. Armah, Assistant Minister for Legal Affairs (replacing Atty. David Kolleh); Mr. Dehpue Y. Zuo, Assistant Minister for International Cooperation (replacing Mr. Chris W. Moore who is being called into Diplomatic Service); Mr. Rufus Neufville, Chief of Protocol, Republic of Liberia. At the Ministry of Commerce & Industry, the President appointed Mr. Alphaiour Ahmed Bah, III, Deputy Minister for Industry & Inspector General and Ms. Makeda Gurley, Deputy Inspector General for Enforcement.At the Ministry of Internal Affairs, Mr. Fong Zuagele becomes the new Superintendent of Nimba County. The Executive Protection Services is now under the leadership of Mr. Frank O. Nyekan, Director (replacing Mr. Othello Warrick who is being reassigned) and Mr. Darlington George, Assistant Director.President Sirleaf also constituted (and reconstituted) a few boards including the Bomi Community College Board of Directors; Libtelco Board of Directors and the Monrovia City Corporation Council. Bomi Community College Board of Directors includes Rev. Dr. Kortu K. Browne, Chairman; the Chairman, Bomi Legislative Caucus; the County Superintendent, Bomi County; the County Superintendent, Gbarpolu County; the City Mayor, Tubmanburg City Corporation; Women Representative, Hon. Hajai Washington; Business Representative; Dr. John S. David; Dr. Daniel B. Edwards; Mr. Robert B. Kennedy; Cllr. William Sando; Dr. Michael Abou Jones; The President, Bomi Community College, Secretary to the Board; and the Minister of Education – Ex-Officio.On the Monrovia City Corporation Council, President Sirleaf appointed Ms. Clara Doe Mvogo, Chair; Cllr. Henry Reed Cooper, Member; Ms. Marthalene Nyankun, Member (replacing Mr. Blama Gaye); Ms. Massa Roberts, Member (replacing Madam Grace Kpaan); Ms. Elizabeth Jones, Member (replacing Ms. Elizabeth Mulbah); Mr. Diallo Bella, Member (replacing Mr. William Findley); Ms. Melvana Vetkeh, Member (replacing Mr. Matthias Korpu); and Mr. Garrison Bailey, Member (replacing Mr. Abel Voker).President Sirleaf reconstituted the Libtelco Board of Directors in the persons of Mr. Fredrick Norkeh, Chairman (Minister of Post & Telecommunications, replacing Mr. Francis Horton); Mr. Thomas Yaya Nimley, Member (replacing Mr. Jackson E. Doe); Mr. Pierre King, Member (replacing Mr. Floyd Thomas); Ms. Ciatta Victor, Member; and Mr. James P. Cooper, MemberShare this:Click to share on Twitter (Opens in new window)Click to share on Facebook (Opens in new window)last_img


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *